December Daily- the finished album

Yay! It’s done! I am so happy to have the whole album done – it feels like such an accomplishment. Even more so when I see 4 years of these albums lined up next to each other. Love looking through them and seeing our family in different stages, kids growing up, traditions evolving. So love this project and so happy I took the time.

Here are a few of my favorite pages. You can see the whole album in my flickr account here.

I rarely use black & white, but they’re always some of my favorite when I do. Added a small felt heart in the corner & some journaling on the photo before printing.

This one I added some words for each photo- would like to do that more next year.

Love these little page protectors.

I know you’ve seen this one before, but still one of my favorites :)

Used some of Ali Edward’s word art, colored red & put down to 80% transparency.

same here

and here – lots of the same theme & supplies, but helped a huge amount to streamline the process.

Love adding in little fun bits in these pocket protectors. Some of my favorite bits this year were Jennifer Pebbles etsy shop. I have always loved her work since she was involved with AMuse way back, and was so excited when she released some of her own products. The “Christmas” words on the chevron paper above came from her.

This year I decided to stop on the 25th, which I was very happy about. We spend a few days after Xmas with my husband’s family, & then have Julia’s birthday on New Year’s Eve, so last year I tried to stretch it to the end of the year- tooooooo much! Just say no ;) Now I have project life to cover those things.

So, after finishing 4 years of this project, I love it even more now. Here are some things that I have learned work for me.

Simplify everything. Use digital templates whenever possible, then add some embellishments. I’m okay that they’re not my most original pages, or they look like other people’s. ┬áLimit my choices- if I have too many embellishments, paper, punches, etc to choose from I get nothing done. I pull everything out in November, put aside the stuff I don’t like or know I won’t use. Everything I think I will use I put into a container that can sit out on my desk. I try not to spend a lot of time with fancy techniques or cutting files on my Silhouette- this isn’t the right project for me to do that (unless I do it ahead of time next year).

Things I want to remember next year:

-my favorite pages are the ones with one large photo & simple word art or embellishments. I need to remember that next year. I don’t need to get every cute photo in the album- just one or two.

-I’d like to try and get down more of the little stories too. more of the snippets of conversations, quirks, etc.

I also finished my Project Life album for 2011- woohoo! I’m amazed I was able to keep up with both. Will try to post some of those soon too.

Thanks for visiting!

6 Responses to “December Daily- the finished album”


  1. 1 Ingrid January 6, 2012 at 9:50 am

    I absolutely love it – I am so glad you are able to capture these memories. Your girls will always treasure these books, and will look through them again and again! You have done another beautiful job.

  2. 2 Mary Jo January 6, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Congrats! Both albums are huge accomplishments.
    And your dec. daily is beautiful :)

  3. 3 Steph January 6, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    It looks wonderful! I finished mine this week and I am so happy too! I just love that my kiddos will be able to look back on this every year.

  4. 4 Magdalena January 6, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    I made my first DD this year, and have definately come to the same conclusions you have. I made mine way too complicated with PP as a base on every page, which made it too hard to embellish and find the right photos. Next year I’m making my DD like the one you have made. White cardstock and Ali’s templates. It really is about the photo’s and memories documented, not about being all original and artsy every day. Lesson learned! And great pages!

  5. 5 Patriciaroebuck@bellsouth.net January 6, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    Oh, I love your album…the photos are amazing! Great job in finishing too!


Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Simply Inspired

Categories

Archives

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

