Advent Calendar

So for a long time I have done all of my crafting without a digital die cut. I bought a cricut once at a craft yard sale for $50, used it never and then donated it to my daughter’s preschool. I bought a Slice, used it a few times, but became frustrated with the effort of setting it all up, etc. And to be honest, most of the cricut designs are just not my style. I’ve loved the idea of the Silhouette for a long time, but still not sure I’d actually use it – somehow die cuts I make just aren’t as appealing to me as purchased ones maybe??? who knows. Anyway, I stumbled upon a used Silhouette SD that someone was selling for cheap since they’d just upgraded to the Cameo. I jumped on it and have been so happy. I love the idea that you can make your own designs, and buy individual ones in the shop for $1. 

IMG_6210

Here’s the advent calendar I made this year for the girls- took quite a while (and distracted me from finishing the December Daily pages for a bit) but so worth it. The girls love it. And I love that it’s got a wood base, and if the paper boxes ever rip or I become tired of them, I just cut new ones. Yay for that. And I’m happy to say most of my Xmas paper stash is now depleted. Or at least my favorites that match the green/red that I was going for.  If only I could find more of the old American Crafts merrymint collection – oh how I loved you….

IMG_6155

Ryan goes running downstairs every morning so excited to open it – love that :) So far, we’ve had a mix of squinkies, littlest pet shop guys, and hershey’s kisses. All the little guys I catch them playing with every day.

1 Response to “Advent Calendar”


  1. 1 Kerry December 4, 2011 at 1:48 am

    Congrats on your new buy! Hope all is well, miss ya! :D


Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Simply Inspired

Categories

Archives

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

